Week 5 Wins

After what felt like a long week of rest and recovery, I restarted my half marathon training plan where I left off.

The schedule said 5 miles on Tuesday and Thursday, and 7 on Saturday.  My reaction to that kind of mileage was “Goodness!”

It seemed like a daunting task but I just took it a day at a time ( and totally enjoyed my rest days).  

Amidst a very stressful week, there were some wins that made the week a much better one.  😀

Win # 1

Tuesday’s run went surprisingly well.

I finished 5 miles in about an hour!

  
Mile 5 was my fastest!

Win #2

It was my first attempt at a 7 mile run. I decided to go slow and maintain a comfortable heart rate.  The results were even better than I expected.

  
Admittedly, I liked the negative split i.e.  the second half of the run was faster than the first half.  Mile 7 was my fastest!  I actually felt energetic enough to go for another mile…but I convinced myself otherwise.  😀 This run definitely showed me the importance of a warm up!

Win #3

7 down, 6 more to go.  The journey continues!

😀

A.K.

2 thoughts on “Week 5 Wins

Leave a Reply

