An Inspiring Life Anthem

I was listening closely to the song ” Greatest” by Sia and I suddenly realized that it had such an inspiring message.  I could apply it to both my family life and my athletic life.
Here are the lyrics that specifically caught my attention:

Uh-oh, running out of breath, but I

Oh, I, I got stamina

Uh-oh, running now, I close my eyes

Well, oh, I got stamina

And uh-oh, I see another mountain to climb

But I, I, I got stamina

Don’t give up, I won’t give up

Don’t give up, no no no

Don’t give up, I won’t give up

Don’t give up, no no no

We all have days or moments where we feel overwhelmed or where we think that we have nothing left to give.  We have to remind ourselves that we are stronger than what we might believe.  

Our mind has a tendency to put doubt in our own abilities and strength.  Perhaps it is about being in our comfort-zone.  It is so much easier to say “I can’t” than to actually make the effort to overcome.  That is the worst thing that one can say to themselves.  It literally puts you in a rut!

When I started training for a triathlon, I had so much self-doubt.  Starting these adventures after 40? What was I thinking?!  Luckily I opted to work with a personal trainer.  He caught on to my self-doubt quite fast.  Whenever I felt as thought so could not do anymore, his mantra was “This limit is just in your mind .  You need to get past that mental barrier”.  He was right!  He has proved to me that I am capable of way more than I could have even imagined in my adult-onset athletic life! 

That belief in myself has definitely carried over into my regular (non athletic) life as well. It is about staying strong and believing in yourself even against the odds.  There will be failures, yes.  But those are just like mountains…tell yourself , “I’ve got Stamina” and keep going.  If you feeing like as though you’re running out of breath say, “I’ve got stamina…don’t give up don’t give up…no, no, no”. 😀. That gets  you out of “victim” mode instantly!

You will also realize that that ” Stamina” is both physical and, more importantly, mental.  The more you train yourself to believe, the better you will get at progressing yourself through the journey of life…obstacles and all.  Self doubt will naturally subside and you will gain the strength and the focus to pursue your ultimate goal (whether that be a triathlon or merely being a happy soul)!

So don’t give up, don’t give up don’t give up no, no, no.

A.K.

4 thoughts on “An Inspiring Life Anthem

  1. Dear Aruna,Very good post. You got Stamina! Finish your Triathlon.Later I feel you should focus on your. writing skills. Polish it up with some courses, if any.You can be good writer.You got Stamina, especially mental Staimna.With best wishes,Dad

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

