Philosophical Math

Math concepts play a part in many aspects of our life today.  We use addition, subtraction, division, multiplication for day to day transactions. We use angles for constructing buildings.  We use proportions for cooking and baking. These are just a few examples showing the practical use of math.

There are some math equations that I have arrived at (based on my personal experiences):


Fulfillment is inversely proportional to Social Media usage 

I have noticed that my social media usage has reduced ever since started  training for a triathlon. This has been one of my most fulfilling “hobbies”.  Perhaps because it has made me stronger, both mentally and physically.  

I usually turned to Facebook or Instagram when I was bored or lonely.  I guess that type of void has been eliminated. I don’t even experience FOMO (Fear of missing out). That would explain why I don’t feel the need to go on Facebook or Instagram multiple times a day.  Once a week seems to cut it.

Unhappiness is proportional to Expectations 

When I started exploring spirituality  a few years ago, this was one of the first lessons that came to light for me.  Maybe another way of phrasing it would be “You can’t be happy if you are a control freak!!”.  Anytime I felt disappointment, I would stop to reflect on the root cause and inevitably it would point to my expectations in a situation.  

This lesson also reformed my parenting style.  I went from a  “My way or the highway” dictator to being more of a trusted guide, advisor and friend.  Don’t get me wrong…Rules are still enforced when needed (we are dealing with teenagers here šŸ˜€).

The Misery Quotient equals pain raised to the power of X

Where X = number of times that a painful incident is remembered, retold or relived.

In other words, the quotient increases exponentially!  Hence we need to let go of things in the past in order to step towards being happy and in the moment. 

šŸ˜€

A.K.

2 thoughts on “Philosophical Math

Leave a Reply

