If we were more like our animal friends…

I have a confession to make.

“I am a documentary junkie!”

I haven’t always been into these knowledge packed nuggets, but as I grew older and tv show standards started declining sharply, I craved more intellectual material. I can honestly watch marathons of these shows!

It is truly amazing how much you can learn from such nature and science shows.  It really gives you a perspective that you probably would never have considered.  Truly eye opening!

I recently finished a series on “Nature”(PBS) called ‘Natural Born Hustlers’.  It really made me realize how smart and cunning these animals, big or small, truly are.  When I saw how deceitful  they could be when they wanted their way with the girls, I realized that these animals are not as innocent and helpless (atleast amongst their own species) as we make them out to be.  I joked with my husband, “Hmmm…these shows are starting to make these animals seem not-so-cute!”

Obviously when you DVR a variety of nature shows, some themes come to light.  No matter what species, they follow eerily similar patterns when it comes to furthering their lineage and existence.  But humans seem to follow a different path (well duh…right?).  

But I wonder if we would have grown to be a ‘stronger’ species if we had followed protocols similar to our animal friends. 

Disclaimer: The content of this post is meant to be tongue in cheek and humorous. 😀

  1. Females choose the strongest male after some crazy goring fights! –  If we did this, each generation would be guaranteed to get stronger and smarter.  Admit it, don’t you ever find yourself in a situation where you say, “This is a case of Charles Darwin’s theory gone gravely wrong!”
  2. Life is not weighed down by emotions – Although some studies imply that animals do experience emotions, we take emotions to a whole other level.  So much so, that it gets in the way of us making good decisions in life. It gets in the way of a plain and simple ‘Happy’ life..  Blame it on that pesky concept of ‘Attachment’!
  3. Understand the elements and adapt – We don’t always have to be on the lookout for predators.  We don’t always have to worry about the availability of food or the lack thereof.  Animals know this is part of life and roll with the punches.  Yet we worry about the most trivial things sometimes…we miss the fact that we are alive. I know that is oversimplified, but maybe it’s a good approach to life.  Be thankful for every sunrise or sunset that you are blessed enough to witness!
  4. Creativity and evolution – they may have small brains but they use them to the fullest, therefore giving each new generation an advantage.  Can we say the same for ourselves? Hmmm…

The next time I see a bird, deer or lizard I will look at them with a lot more respect. It is a crazy world out there and, if they survive, it is an indication of their  smarts!

A.K.

Leave a comment